UK Whistleblowers Abandon All Hope!!

As a Whistle-blower waiting for my case to come to the Employment Tribunal; a wait of over a year now; due Jan 2014.

I have nothing left.  No income; just worry anxiety, depression, fear, a feeling that I’ve been pushed aside whilst no-one listens.

Having a prior illnesss (M.E.) diagnosed is no help.  My claims for ESA could take years to be sorted out.  All the while I rot on £70 per week.  That’s my daugther and I.  Child benefits of £20 are a help, the difference between starving and not.   In any case I’ve been living on handouts from the foodbank; I have little left to buy fresh food.

I struggle to manage day to day; I have little energy.  The M.E. also ensures I’m in a lot of pain.  But what can I do but fight on?  I must survivie another six months to get to the Tribunal then I will be able to have ‘my say’.

I say I will “Have my Say”; I will; as I have to represent myself.  There is no Legal Aid for Employment Tribunals; not even if the issue includes an element of Whistle-blowering; a protected disclosure.  The Union don’t even have a policy on Whistleblowing and wouldn’t support me with legal aid because the whole thing takes longer than a year to get to the tribunal!

So I try to get up out of bed and shake off the pain; try to appeal my ESA to get more money, sell my possessions, oh and try to fight off the banks.  I’ve no credit left (still paying the Overdraft fees and interest.) and I’m in arrears on my mortgage for over a year?  The clock is ticking – will I be homeless before I get to the Tribunal?

Then there’s the government’s attitude to my disclosure.  I have of course tried to tell them that they should investigate; but the moron’s in office try to tell me what my own job is and that they know better!  Well the authority investigating as a result of the disclosure know their job and have taken action!  The one positive thing about the whole affair.

Being a whistle-blower is really the worst role to find yourself.  Ostracized; not appreciated; penniless and hungry.

 

thanks

About Max

Poet, Creative Writer, Essayist, Political Opinionist and Reviewer. Rock and Roll fix it man with two guitars, a spanner, some glue and Myalgic Encephalomyelitis! Michael aka Max struggles to balance his continued ill luck with the limits of his condition. He also is acutely aware of the difficulties facing M.E. suffers who are abused by the system. In addition to poetry and historical fiction Michael also writes delightful and original children’s stories. He is also considering the completion of the first installment of his imaginative historically accurate stories of ex-pats stranded far from home in Asia during War World II, ‘The Orange Dragon of Old Hanoi’ (Copyright 2007, 2014). ‘The Long Hard Highway’ is a collection of poems by aspiring British poet, writer and researcher of historical fiction, and children's author Michael J. Wormald. Self published for the first time on Amazon Kindle 2013. The Call of the Thunder Dragon Novel out now View all posts by Max

Leave a Reply

