Whistleblowing or Silent Screaming?

I feel like screaming.  I certainly think that the act of making a disclosure and wrapping up the problem so you can get on with you life or you career is next to impossible in the UK.

Assuming that having made a disclosure; this can be as simple as telling you boss that the Safety barrier is broken; or making a protected disclosure to the right authority.  Can you then settle back into routine at work and be happy as before?

If nothing was done about the problem, you life was made a misery what would you do?  If lives were still at risk, if you working life was being made hell, or you were being fobbed off?  How would this affect you?  Depression, Anxiety, alcohol abuse, – divorce?  Loss of income; debt, mortgage arrears, house repossession?  All because you wanted to do the right thing?

Many people would simply leave and let the wrong doing go on.  I have say that is the most sensible thing to do in the UK.  Many people simply don’t want a black mark against them, don’t want their family life disrupted.   If you have to leave your job, do it quietly, get a good reference and move on.  Because most likely the state won’t help you, the Tribunal service is not fir for purpose, getting to cases in timescale that don’t stop the debtors moving in.  No body would blame you for moving on and turning you back a problem.

However if you believe you you have to say is right and couldn’t live with yourself in you did turn away.  Depending on how big you problem is, how big the company you work is you’ve got a big problem on your own shoulders and no one can take it away.  It might even kill you; or you kill yourself because the weight is too much.  This is the lot of the UK Whistleblower.

Personally I’ve got a Mouton to climb; with a defense company and the Ministry on my back; with seven months to go.  On my right I’m fight off my debt and trying to live on handouts, – the DWP just keep turning down my ESA (their appeal process takes years.) and on my left I’m fighting off the mortgage company – who are even now coming to get my house.

I could give up.  I’d have nothing to show for my fight; gained nothing – lost everything; and would have to fight back the bile for the rest of my life knowing that an important safety issue had never come to light.

For crying out loud I only want to live and according to my rights have a fair hearing at the Tribunal, then win or loss I can put my life back together and try to get my health back!

 

About Max

Poet, Creative Writer, Essayist, Political Opinionist and Reviewer. Rock and Roll fix it man with two guitars, a spanner, some glue and Myalgic Encephalomyelitis! Michael aka Max struggles to balance his continued ill luck with the limits of his condition. He also is acutely aware of the difficulties facing M.E. suffers who are abused by the system. In addition to poetry and historical fiction Michael also writes delightful and original children’s stories. He is also considering the completion of the first installment of his imaginative historically accurate stories of ex-pats stranded far from home in Asia during War World II, ‘The Orange Dragon of Old Hanoi’ (Copyright 2007, 2014). ‘The Long Hard Highway’ is a collection of poems by aspiring British poet, writer and researcher of historical fiction, and children's author Michael J. Wormald. Self published for the first time on Amazon Kindle 2013. The Call of the Thunder Dragon Novel out now View all posts by Max

Leave a Reply

