I don’t qualify for any of it! Help me, Help myself!

I’m fed up of people telling me to go to Citizens Advice Bureau. In the end of done more to help myself.  By now I know what they’ll say – and I don’t qualify for any of it!

I’ve been there – done that; and I’m poorer than ever. I don’t drink, don’t smoke, can’t justify the cost of going out of the house!! So I try to cope with 2,000 pages of legal and tribunal evidence on my own. God its boring after years of waiting!

I receive ESA and Child Benefit. Not enough to live on; wasn’t 4 years ago; isn’t now.

Even my medical pension hasn’t help much; the ESA is reduced anyway as a result.

Citizens Advice Bureau (CAB) are simply surprised that I haven’t solved my problems yet. Er – life long term illness?  And the Employment Tribunal I am sure is taking deliberately long. And no you can’t settle a Public Interest Disclosure case, confidently through ACAS – come on! What would be the point my blowing the whistle?

As for my health –there’s no cure? Certainly no improvement while I’m kept in suspense. CAB just expect me to go away? Their foodbank – now get this, only provides food parcels twice in any three month period. That’s for two of us? Looks like we’ll living on Beans, and maybe eggs if we’re lucky. Have you seen the price of Bread?

CAB “At least your family are getting School meals when they are at school?”

Self “Er, excuse me they Breakup for Summer next week”

CAB “Drive down to K_____ and pick up a food parcel”

Self “I’m sorry I can’t afford food, which I’d buy before I put petrol in the car”

CAB “oh…” CAB

Self “It would be a 35 mile round trip – I don’t normally drive that much in a week?”

CAB “You could go to the local Children’s centre?”

Self “Yep – I did until they turned me away and gave me your number?”

CAB “…”

 

So how to cope?

  • Bake Bread (until the flour runs out)
  • Eat up the rice and pasta…
  • Eat the same thing every day and get used to it
  • Four small meals a day is better than trying to manage one decent one!
  • Have a glass of water before/instead of snack (good way to diet as well)
  • Live off Yellow or ‘oops’ labels while you can
  • Stretch you budget till you cry?

 

Whistleblowing poet needs to keep alive

Ambitious & passionate. I belive in truth. A whistleblower trapped in a cycle of disclosure & delay?

 

Nodbbjdgvcmtjuirflks
About Max

Poet, Creative Writer, Essayist, Political Opinionist and Reviewer. Rock and Roll fix it man with two guitars, a spanner, some glue and Myalgic Encephalomyelitis! Michael aka Max struggles to balance his continued ill luck with the limits of his condition. He also is acutely aware of the difficulties facing M.E. suffers who are abused by the system. In addition to poetry and historical fiction Michael also writes delightful and original children’s stories. He is also considering the completion of the first installment of his imaginative historically accurate stories of ex-pats stranded far from home in Asia during War World II, ‘The Orange Dragon of Old Hanoi’ (Copyright 2007, 2014). ‘The Long Hard Highway’ is a collection of poems by aspiring British poet, writer and researcher of historical fiction, and children's author Michael J. Wormald. Self published for the first time on Amazon Kindle 2013. The Call of the Thunder Dragon Novel out now View all posts by Max

Leave a Reply

